Get News & Updates


News RSS

Heart Singer Ann Wilson Talks About Recording For Sly Stone’s New Album

In an interview with, Heart singer Ann Wilson said she “couldn’t have been more flattered” to be asked to record vocals for Sly Stone’s new album, “I’m Back! Family & Friends,” being released on August 16th. She said hearing Sly and the Family Stone records on the radio when she was a child “opened me up in this really amazing way to the funk. I mean, those were only the singles, so when I got to know the rest of the stuff, too, it was really an amazing sort of epiphany for me to hear his stuff. So, when I was asked to do this, I just thought, God, how cool and I went for it!” Wilson chose to sing “Everyday People” for the album.


Washington Post Says Kennedy Center Should Honor Sly And The Family Stone

This year’s recipients of the Kennedy Center Honors won’t be announced until later this summer or early fall, but The Washington Post’s critics have offered their own opinions on the artists who should receive the honor. The newspaper suggests that Sly and the Family Stone should be included among this year’s honorees because: “There’s no band more deserving. Sly and the Family Stone’s multi-race, mixed-gender lineup epitomized the social idealism of 1960s America, and the group’s protest songs melted genres with a funky, euphoric electricity that has never been matched.” Read more at

Sly Stone New Album Track Listing Revealed reports that Sly Stone’s new album “I’m Back! Family & Friends,” which is scheduled to be released on August 16th, will include 11 tracks and the following collaborators:

  1. “Dance To The Music” with Ray Manzarek
  2. “Everyday People” with Ann Wilson
  3. “Family Affair”
  4. “Stand!” with Carmine Appice & Ernie Watts
  5. “Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)” with Johnny Winter
  6. “(I Want To Take You) Higher” with Jeff Beck
  7. “Hot Fun In The Summertime” with Bootsy Collins
  8. “Dance To The Music”
  9. “Plain Jane”
  10. “His Eye Is On The Sparrow”
  11. “Get Away”

Sly Stone Reported To Release New Album August 16th

The Star Tribune reports that Sly Stone is set to release his new album, “I’m Back! Family & Friends” on August 16th. The album will feature Sly redoing hits including “Everyday People” and “Family Affair,” with the help of Jeff Beck, Johnny Winter, Heart’s Ann Wilson, Bootsy Collins, the Doors’ Ray Manzarek and others. The 11-song album also will feature three previously unreleased tracks, including the traditional song “His Eye Is On The Sparrow,” the newspaper reports.

Read more at the Star Tribune.

Sly and the Family Stone Ranked At #15 In Top 50 Events In Rock Music

The U.K.’s Observer newspaper has ranked Sly and the Family Stone’s album “Stand!” at number 15 in its series of 50 key events in the history of rock music. The newspaper wrote, “Sly Stone took the live excitement of the Stax Soul Revue, grafted on James Brown’s completely functional, rhythm-as-a pure-state funk, and mixed in the heightened airs of psychedelia. … No one else could have made it quite as tight and loose, as blessed and blithe spirited.”


Sly Stone Re-records Classic Song With Guitarist Johnny Winter

In an interview with the South Bend Tribune newspaper, blues guitarist Johnny Winter said he recently worked in the studio with Sly Stone, as a guest guitarist for a new version of “Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin).” He said Sly “is doing the old stuff. It was fun. I enjoyed doing it. I wouldn’t do it if I didn’t like it.” You can read more at

Happy Birthday To Sly Stone! Special Limited Edition Birthday Offer

Happy Birthday to Sly Stone, who turns 68 years old today! In honor of Sly’s birthday, Pop Market and Archive 1887 are offering a special VIP deal on this limited edition Sly Stone t-shirt. For the VIP discount price of $57.99 $25.99, you’ll get:

Sly Stone T-shirt

  • Limited Edition
  • Exclusive Offering
  • Iconic Art

This high-quality Sly Stone t-shirt is a wearable piece of history which embodies the vibe and spirit of the time. Act fast, supplies are limited!

Larry Graham Records Duet With Raphael Saadiq

In an interview with AOL’s The Boombox, singer/songwriter Raphael Saadiq said his new album “Stone Rollin'” features a duet with legendary bassist Larry Graham. “We did a duet together, a hidden track on the new album called ‘The Perfect Storm.’ I played bass, but I put my bass down [laughs]. The first day I tried to play bass for him, I couldn’t even play. I froze three times. He’s my all-time idol!”

‘Stone Rollin”’ arrives in stores on May 10th.

Sly & The Family Stone Featured In VIP Deal Today Only For The Woodstock Experience!

Woodstock Experience

Today only, the Woodstock Experience bundle featuring Sly & The Family Stone is being offered at the exclusive price of
$49.99 at! Experience Woodstock with 5 of the festivals biggest artists – Santana, Janis Joplin, Sly & The Family Stone, Jefferson Airplane and Johnny Winter!

This exclusive bundle features:

  • All 5 individually Numbered, Limited Edition Packages
  • Each Artist’s Complete Woodstock Performance
  • Plus Each Artist’s Classic 1969 Studio Album
  • 10 CDs, 5 Commemorative Posters
  • Many unreleased tracks and rare photos

These Limited Edition sets come in a collectible, individually numbered slipcase, with two LP-replica mini-jackets and inner sleeves PLUS a 16″ x 20″ artist-specific poster.

Act fast, supplies are limited!

New Dance Work Inspired By Sly and the Family Stone

David Dorfman, choreographer and head of the David Dorfman Dance troupe, has developed a new work called “Prophets of Funk – Dance to the Music,” inspired by Sly and the Family Stone. “Prophets of Funk” calls on elements of Sly and the Family Stone, looking at “the funk of everyday life, the joy of everyday life” and how everyday people still hope and still aspire, he said in an interview. “I’ve always been the biggest, biggest fan of Sly and the Family Stone.” The dance troupe will perform “Prophets of Funk” on Friday, February 4th at Connecticut College’s Palmer Auditorium.

Read more at If you were unable to see the Connecticut show, the troupe will be performing again from April 8-10 at the Institute of Contemporary Art in Boston.

Larry Graham Performs With Prince At Madison Square Garden

Graham Central Station, led by legendary bassist Larry Graham, performed in concert with Prince at Madison Square Garden in New York City on December 18th. During the show, Larry noted it was his first time performing at the venue since he appeared as part of Sly and the Family Stone. Prince joined the band onstage for a medley of hits including “Family Affair” and “Everyday People.” You can read more at The Hollywood Reporter.

Sly & The Family Stone Holiday Sale!

Happy Holidays! Use the promo code ICONSLY4 anytime between now and Tuesday Dec. 21, 2010 at midnight EST to get 25% off all Sly & The Family Stone products at ICON Collectibles. This special offer includes:

  • 5 Sly & The Family Stone Fine Art Prints
  • 3 Canvas Album Art Covers
  • 1 “Stand” 19″ x 19″ Album Art Cover Reproduction

Hurry, supplies are limited! Visit ICON Collectibles today!